X
X
enfrjaru
AV:in Hardware
Study now

Hardware

20 videos with Oli Sorenson, George Tsar’kov, ::vtol::, Sergey Kasich, Oleg Makarov and Alyona Danilova

Introduction

av:in

This is an overview of the course Hardware module, which allows students to get straight into the lessons they need and give them a scope for what this module encompasses. It also contains some recommendations on choosing the equipment you might need for audiovisual performances.

Computers

av:in

Computers are the most central category of AV hardware for performance, as well as production. Beyond the Mac/PC divide, students will acquire in this lesson, the know-how to choose computers according to different job specifications, from entry level laptops all the way up to customized video servers like Hippotizer systems.

Mixers I

av:in

It’s easy to get lost in the multitude of mixers now available for video and AV performance. This lesson aims to order the most popular units in terms of features and video quality (standard definition to HD, etc). Most importantly, a good number of mixing techniques will be demonstrated to put each unit to its best use. Some of the units covered include the Edirol product range as well as Pioneer, Numark and Vixid.

Mixers II

A mixer is a key piece of equipment for any audiovisual performance. What make and model is good for you? The 2nd lesson on AV mixers is devoted to more advanced models, such as Numark AVM02 and showcasing the basics of working with it - including working with channels, video and audio effects and mixing techniques.

Players, Sequencers & Synthesizers

av:in

This class will go into detail to provide alternatives to computers for content sources. DVD players have been in such use for years, but new products are emerging every month, making it important to regularly review this category of hardware. As with mixers, some units are better suited for one performance style over another, and some of these styles will be demonstrated here. Units reviewed in this lesson include Pioneer DVJ-1000s, Edirol CG-8 and P-10, Korg Kaptivators and others.

Green Hippo Media Servers - p.1

Green Hippo Media Servers

The award-winning range of Green Hippo media servers widely considered the most flexible and reliable range of media servers on the market today. Its hardware/software solutions now boast a whole host of unique features with a ‘no compromise’ approach. In the first part of Green Hippo media tutorials we will introduce a brief overview of the media server components.

Green Hippo Media Servers - p.2

In the second part of our tutorials on Green Hippo media servers we will continue exploring systems' components and basics of working with light consoles.

Arduino: introduction. Part 1

arduino soundartist

In the first part of a series of educational videos on Arduino Sergey Kasich and Oleg Makarov from the Soundartist community will introduce us to this highly popular in experimental and technological art platform. A few different models of microcontrollers and a practical demonstration of their work in the Arduino programming environment will be shown too. You will also become familiar with the basic safety precautions of working with microcontrollers and together with us will upload a sketch of a basic Arduino program designed to flash the LED.

Arduino: introduction. Part 2

arduino soundartist

In the second part of the video, prepared for you in collaboration with Soundartist collective, we will continue to acquaint you with the basics of working with Arduino micro-controllers. In particular, we will talk about the inputs and outputs on the card. We will also connect an external LED to it and learn how to switch it on and off gradually with a button. Later on we will address Arduino usage in interactive installations - a topic, which will be continued in the next video of the Arduino series.

Arduino: introduction. Part 3

arduino soundartist

In the third video on the Arduino microcontrollers we will continue to talk about their use in interactive installations. We will show you some examples of work with various sensors, such as a potentiometer, photo resistor, bend sensor, motion sensor and an infra-red distance gauge. You will also learn how to connect your device to display the result, for example, with a LED light or a speaker.

Arduino: introduction. Part 4

arduino soundartist

In this video Sergei Kasich and Oleg Makarov will continue with the introduction of Arduino microcontrollers. In this episode we will connect a 3d g-meter to our board and make a simple DC motor and a capacitive touch sensor work with Arduino UNO using an ULN 2003 circuit. Finally, we will connect a small servo motor with Arduino Mega.

Arduino: introduction. Part 5

arduino soundartist

In our last video on the Arduino we will make our previous example more complicated. Our microcontroller will be powered by an adapter and we will control rotation of a servo motor with a potentiometer. Then we will connect Arduino to a basic 2-line LCD and a potentiometer for controlling it. And finally combining all our knowledge we will construct a complex project where we will use a g-meter, a piezo disc and a battery case. In conclusion we will teach our microcontroller to work with Max/MSP and Pure Data programs.

Xsens: cameraless real time motion capture system. P.1

xsens

Alyona Danilova from Sila Sveta studio presented Xsens - a cameraless suit for motion capture. On illustrative examples Alyona showed how this suit can be used for 3D character animation in real time and such animation integrated in a show. In this video, she will also speak about the technical characteristics of the suit, its features and possibilities of application.

Xsens: cameraless real time motion capture system. P.2

xsens

In the second part of her talk Alyona Danilova will continue to acquaint us with the cameraless suit for motion capture Xsens. She will show how correctly to put it on, calibrate, test the performance space for the presence of magnetic fields, as well as how to use MVN Studio software for capturing motion, changing it parameters and animation, integrating 3d models and exporting data to external software/computers.

MIDI Controllers

av:in

MIDI-controllers are essential for computer-based performers to break away from the constraints of keyboard and mouse interaction. This lesson is dedicated to explaining the basics of MIDI concepts, as well as contains some examples of sliders, knobs and keyboard configurations usage. It also gives some recommendations on the best ways of using MIDI for your live AV performance. Some of the units covered in this lesson include Korg Nano Kontrol, M-Audio Trigger Finger, Numark’s Grand VJ and others.

Miscellaneous Equipment

av:in

There are plenty of different things to consider for your audiovisual performance or while working on creating content in studio apart of AV mixers, MIDI-controllers, computers, synthesizers or sequencers. In this lesson we will talk about miscellaneous, yet crucial little things, such as different kinds of cables, adaptors and other equipment.

Hercules controllers

hercules controllers

Audio controllers and consoles from the French company Hercules are quickly gaining popularity among DJs and musicians that perform live due to their high quality and affordable prices. This video is an overview of the most popular Hercules controllers by DJ and journalist George Tsar'kov.

::vtol:: Circuit bending. Part 1

vtol circuit bending

In the first part of tutorials on circuit bending а media artist and musician ::vtol:: (aka Dmitry Morozov) will talk about the origin of this movement, its development, artists who use circuit bending and opportunities for creativity, which it provides on the example of his personal projects.

::vtol:: Circuit bending. Part 2

vtol circuit bending

In the second tutorial on circuit bending with media artist and musician ::vtol:: we'll disassemble the synth and get acquainted with the basic methods of bending. In total there will be four of them. The first one is locking ROM pins and bringing them up to a patch bay as banana connectors and toggle switches. The second one is creating an analog feedback from synthesizer's amplifier. The third one is outputting signals from the ROM legs as an audio. And the last one is changing processor frequency with the high frequency generator.

::vtol:: Circuit bending. Part 3

vtol circuit bending

In the final video on circuit bending with media artist and musician ::vtol:: we will further dig into the anatomy of musical synthesis by installing toggle switches, banana connectors, knobs for analog amplifier and pitch adjuster. To do this, we'll find and connect the points on the ROM that sound most interesting, then will assemble and test our synth, and, finally, will sum up all our work.

X
X
enfrjaru
AV:in Оборудование
Пройти обучение

Оборудование

20 видео | Авторы: Оли Соренсон, Георгий Царьков, ::vtol::, Сергей Касич, Олег Макаров и Алёна Данилова

Вводная часть

av:in

В вводной части модуля "Оборудование" вы получите советы по выбору нужного вам оборудования для аудиовизуальных выступлений. Вашему вниманию также будет предложен краткий обзор содержимого уроков модуля.

Компьютеры

av:in

Компьютеры являются сегодня главной составной частью любого аппаратного комплекса, предназначенного как для производства видео и аудио, так и для живых выступлений. В этом уроке мы расскажем о правильном подборе компьютерного оборудования под те или иные задачи: от рекомендаций по покупке ноутбуков и компьютерной периферии для начинающих артистов и заканчивая обзором работы на медиа-серверах для опытных профи.

Микшеры I

av:in

Потеряться в разнообразии видео- и аудиовидео- микшеров легко. Какой из них выбрать, какая в них есть функциональность? В первом из 2 уроков, посвященных микшерам, Оли Соренсон расскажет о наиболее популярных моделях микшеров Edirol, Pioneer, Numark и Vixid: от относительно простых до самых функциональных. Кроме того, из этого урока вы сможете узнать о некоторых техниках микширования, эффективных на этих моделях пультов.

Микшеры II

Микшер - это один из главных инструментов в работе ви-джея и ди-джея или во время живого выступления. На рынке существует много моделей различных производителей, и разобраться в том, какая из них подходит именно вам, бывает непросто. В этом видео уроке мы расскажем о более продвинутой линейке моделей аудио- видео микшеров на примере микшера Numark AVM02, а также покажем основы работы с ним - как пользоваться каналами, работать с эффектами и применять различные техники микширования в деле.

Проигрыватели, секвенсоры и синтезаторы

av:in

Компьютер давно стал неотъемлемой частью рабочего окружения музыканта и видеопродюсера. Однако это не значит, что без него теперь нельзя обойтись: на рынке существует масса мощных и вполне способных заменить компьютер аппаратов для выполнения самых разных задач во всевозможных условиях. В этом уроке мы расскажем, в частности, о таких девайсах как DVJ-1000s, Edirol CG-8 и P-10, Korg Kaptivator и некоторых других.

Медиа серверы Green Hippo-ч.1

Медиа серверы Green Hippo

Медиа серверы Green Hippo получили гигантское количество наград и снискали безупречную репутацию среди профессионалов. Это - не только самые надежные медиа серверы мира, но еще и самые гибкие, инновационные гибридные решения, известные на сегодня. В первой части видео по основам работы с этими медиа серверами мы представим краткий обзор основных компонентов системы.

Медиа серверы Green Hippo-ч.2

Во второй части видео по работе с медиа-серверами Green Hippo мы продолжим обзор компонентов системы и поговорим о работе со световыми консолями.

Введение в Arduino. Часть 1

arduino soundartist

В первой части серии образовательных видео посвященных Arduino Сергей Касич и Олег Макаров из сообщества "Soundartist" расскажут нам о том, что собой представляет очень популярная в экспериментальном и технологическом искусстве платформа Arduino. Будут показаны несколько различных моделей микроконтроллеров и на практике продемонстрирована их работа в программной среде. Вы также ознакомитесь с техникой безопасности при работе с микроконтроллерами и совместно с ними загрузите на Arduino простейшую микропрограмму для мигания светодиодом.

Введение в Arduino. Часть 2

arduino soundartist

Во второй части видео, подготовленного для вас коллективом Soundartist, мы продолжим знакомить вас с основами работы с микроконтроллерами Arduino. В частности, мы разберемся с тем, где расположены входы и выходы на плате, подключим внешний светодиод и научимся включать его с помощью кнопки. Мы также начнем разговор об использовании Arduino для интерактивных инсталляций, который будет продолжен в следующем видео.

Введение в Arduino. Часть 3

arduino soundartist

В третьем видео по работе с микроконтроллерами Arduino мы продолжим разговор об их использовании в интерактивных инсталляциях. Для этого мы на примерах рассмотрим работу различных сенсоров, таких как потенциометр, фоторезистор, датчик сгибания, датчик движения и инфракрасный дальномер. Вы также научитесь подсоединять устройства для вывода результата, например светодиод или динамик.

Введение в Arduino. Часть 4

arduino soundartist

Сергей Касич и Олег Макаров продолжают нас знакомить с микроконтроллерами Arduino. В этом видео мы подключим к нашей плате трехмерный аккселерометр, а так же подружим простой моторчик постоянного тока и емкостной сенсор прикосновения с Arduino UNO с помощью микросхемы ULN 2003. В заключение мы подключим небольшой сервомотор к Arduino Mega.

Введение в Arduino. Часть 5

arduino soundartist

В последнем видео по работе с Arduino мы немного усложним наш предыдущий пример. Наш микроконтроллер будет работать от адаптера, а с помощью потенциометра мы сможем управлять вращением сервомотора. Далее мы подключим к Arduino простой 2-строчный LCD дисплей с потенциометром в роли контроллера. И, наконец, объединив все наши приобретенные знания, мы соберем небольшой комплексный проект, в котором будут зайдествованы акселерометр, пьезодиск и батарейный блок. В заключение мы "научим" наш микроконтроллер работать с программой Max/MSP и Pure Data.

Xsens: костюм для захвата движения в режиме реального времени. Ч.1

xsens

Алёна Данилова из студии "Сила Света" представила доклад о костюме Xsens для захвата движения. На наглядных примерах Алена рассказала, как с помощью костюма можно анимировать 3D-персонаж в реальном времени и интегрировать его в шоу. В этом видео речь также пойдет о технической стороне работы с костюмом, его функциональных возможностях и перспективах применения.

Xsens: костюм для захвата движения в режиме реального времени. Ч.2

xsens

Во второй части своего рассказа Алёна Данилова продолжит знакомить нас с костюмом Xsens, основанном на принципах бескамерной технологии захвата движения. Она покажет, как правильно надеть костюм, произвести калибровку, проверить площадку на наличие магнитных полей, изменять параметры мокапа, а так же как работать с программой MVN Studio, интегрировать в анимацию движений 3D-модели и экспортировать полученные данные.

MIDI-контроллеры

av:in

MIDI-контроллер - незаменимая вещь для любого современного композитора или артиста, использующего на выступлениях компьютер с программным обеспечением типа Ableton Live или интегрирующего внешний интерфейс в свой сет. Урок повествует об основах работы как с языком MIDI, так и с некоторыми MIDI-совместимыми устройствами, среди которых: Korg Nano Kontrol, M-Audio Trigger Finger, Numark’s Grand VJ.

Различное оборудование

av:in

Помимо MIDI-контроллеров, микшеров, компьютеров и синтезаторов существует огромное количество прочего оборудования, необходимого для производства аудио- и видео контента и аудиовизуальных выступлений. В этом уроке речь пойдет о различных кабелях, всевозможных устройствах для соединения, адаптерах и компьютерной периферии.

Контроллеры Hercules

hercules controllers

Аудио контроллеры и консоли французской компании Hercules получили широкое признание среди DJ и музыкантов, выступающих вживую, благодаря своему высокому качеству при демократичных ценах. Это видео - краткий обзор линейки самых популярных контроллеров Hercules, предложенный ведущим и журналистом Георгием Царьковым.

::vtol:: Circuit bending. Часть 1

vtol circuit bending

В первой части из серии уроков по бендингу (circuit bending) медиа-художник и музыкант ::vtol:: (Дмитрий Морозов) расскажет об истории зарождения этого направления, его развитии, артистах, которые используют бендинг и возможностях для творчества, которое оно предоставляет на примере своих личных проектов.

::vtol:: Circuit bending. Часть 2

vtol circuit bending

Во втором уроке по бендингу (circuit bending) с медиа-художником и музыкантом ::vtol:: мы разберем синтезатор и познакомимся с основными методами бендинга. Всего их будет четыре. Первый - замыкание ножек ROM'a и выведение их на патч-бэй в виде "банана"-разъемов и тумблеров. Второй - это создание аналогового фидбэка на основе усилителя синтезатора. Третий - выведение сигналов с ножек ROM'a в качестве аудио сигнала. И последний - изменение частоты работы процессора с помощью высокочастотного генератора.

::vtol:: Circuit bending. Часть 3

vtol circuit bending

В заключительном видео по бендингу (circuit bending) с медиа-художником и музыкантом ::vtol:: мы вплотную займемся анатомией музыкального синтеза, приступив к монтажу тумблеров, "банана"-разъемов, ручек для аналогового усилителя и регулировки высоты тона. Для этого мы найдем и соединим наиболее интересно звучащие точки на ROM'e, а затем соберем и протестируем инструмент, после чего подведем итоги работы.